jump to navigation

On Writing Blogs July 23, 2007

Posted by Joe in blogs, internet, life.
trackback

My blog writing has slowed considerably. Which is sad because I was never very prolific to begin with.

There are many things that I find interesting and sometimes get the hankering to write something about, but then when I sit down to actually do it I find I have very little to say that hasn’t already been said better than I could write it.

I mentioned in passing in my first post here the inherent conceit of writing a blog. The strange idea one must have that they have something to say that other people would want to read. Now I should clarify that I read a lot of blogs that I find very interesting. They make great insights and good explanations. (Or so they seem to me.) But I honestly don’t know if I believe it 100% when someone says they find my blog interesting.

But I do think it is a good idea for me to keep writing stuff here, but it will definitely be in fits and starts. I will post multiple times in a single day and then go a week with nothing to post. I spend a lot of time commenting on the blogs of others though. I should reply by way of my blog more often than I do. Maybe trying that will give me more to post about.

Thanks to all those who have bothered reading and especially to those who have left comments.

I’ll see if I can’t find something interesting to write today.

Comments»

1. cragar - July 23, 2007

I know when I first started my blog you have all of these ideas, and then you use them all up in a couple of months. Or you find another blog that said something you wanted to already and they did a great job, so you get stuck from time to time.

2. Ed Yong - July 23, 2007

If you find another blog that says what you wanted to say and did it well… just go ahead and say it anyway!

There is no hard and fast code of honour which says that someone covering a particular topic means that you cannot. For a start, I and many others might not read those other blogs and be very interested in what you have to say.

I write a science blog, covering new stories. I have never written a story that noone else has covered too. Often, the same topic will be written about in very respectable sources like New Scientist, or other much more popular blogs.

But really, who cares? I personally believe that if you write for your own sake, because you truly enjoy the process of writing, then it really doesn’t matter if other people do the same. You’ll get satisfaction out of it regardless, and that will come through in the writing.

3. Richard Wade - July 23, 2007

Joe,
You sound a little discouraged. Take the encouragement from cragar and Ed Yong. I like your blog. I still have it on my favorites list and visit regularly. It doesn’t matter that it’s all been said and written before, perhaps better; you haven’t said it yet, and when you do it’s immediately different. Whether it’s a single posting or the blog in general, in the writing of it it immediately changes and takes on its own momentum. You take it somewhere but it takes you somewhere also. Don’t worry about it being “important” if that’s what’s bothering you. If you did then it might end up sounding contrived. Just talk about what you know and care about, and what you want to know and care about. Don’t worry about the pace of your productivity. It’s not a job. Yuck to that. Have fun.

4. Joe - July 24, 2007

Thanks I appreciate all the encouragement. I will keep it up and write when I feel I want to.

5. Paul Sunstone - July 26, 2007

I agree with the others here. Especially that one should not worry whether things have been said before. Often, I suspect I’ve never had an idea in my life with any truth in it which was not first said by someone else. With six billion of us on the planet, that’s almost bound to be the case. So, write for the sheer fun of it!


Leave a Reply

