jump to navigation

Regarding “fundie”. June 10, 2007

Posted by Joe in agnosticism, atheism, belief, language, religion, theism.
trackback

I do not like the term “fundie” as it is used to refer to religious fundamentalists. I have been guilty of using it myself in the past, but I have now decided not to use it again.

The only way I have seen it used is to demean and insult a particular group of or even religious people in general. It is one of those words, like the term “religious fundamentalist” in whose place it stands, whose sole purpose is to paint the larger group of religious people with the foibles of an extreme minority.

Do you use this term? Does it leave a bad taste in your mouth?

Comments»

1. Richard Wade - June 10, 2007

Yes, I confess I have used the term on rare occasions. I know, I know, I’m the one who’s always talking about arguing respectfully. It’s just once in a while the active, dedicated ignorance and bigotry reach a threshold I can’t contain and I use it in a comment. It’s more bigotry back, I know. Sorry.

The taste leaves in my mouth when I use it? Not exactly bad. Kind of primal. Like blood.

2. Noogatiger - June 14, 2007

I used to be a fundie.
Of course I didn’t call myself that, and I don’t really use it now, but it does not bother me. I used to hate being put in the category of religious fundamentalist as if we were right in there with the terrorists. However now, looking back I have to say the shoe fit whether we liked it or not.


Leave a Reply

