jump to navigation

In the beginning… May 25, 2007

Posted by Joe in atheism, books, life, science, software.
trackback

there was a blank text box.

So here is the beginning of my blog and to be honest I am not sure what I am going to do with it. At first I was thinking of making an atheism blog, but there is so much more to me than that, so many more important things.

My decision then is to leave this blog generalized and I am sure I will have posts on many different subjects that interest me. Primarily they will be science, software development and testing, books, atheism, skepticism. I may touch on movies and television where I have an eclectic taste. Maybe I will mention politics from time to time.

It seems to be there is a general conceit in blogging. The strange idea that people might actually be interested in reading whatever silly opinion I might have on whatever idea is currently knocking around in my brain. Why should you really care? Well my conclusion is you shouldn’t, so I am writing the blog for me. If it entertains you as well as getting me to write something that’s just an added benefit. Really I just want to get the ideas out of my head and somewhere in the world.

To be brief, I am a 30 year old, white, software QA engineer living in the beautiful pacific northwest. Currently I am working as a software quality tester for a large bank. I was previously a science teacher for two years, before that I was also working in the software field for a well known company.

I am a dabbler in many things, but I tend to master very few. I like to try almost everything though. I just don’t seem to have the stick-to-it-iveness that is necessary to become an expert at anything. I very often start things that I never finish. Let’s just hope this blog doesn’t go the same way.

Comments»

1. Tina B. - May 26, 2007

I agree about the conceit. I started a blog on blogspot because my son did. First it was just to gab about anything,then it turned into politics, atheism and religion. So now I started another blog for just anything that comes to mind.

2. Joe - May 26, 2007

So you maintain two blogs? One seems to be enough work for me, and I am just getting started. Maybe once the wheels get greased up enough I will get better at it.

Thanks for commenting.

3. Tina B. - May 26, 2007

See, you could do a blog on just computer stuff, my son gets into that. It’s surprising what you get when you type in recipes or dogs etc. I’m more interested in the atheism topic and politics. I’m not too schooled in politics but I love to learn about the separation of church and state. I’m looking forward to reading more from you.

4. agnosticatheist - May 27, 2007

Joe,

Looking forward to reading your blog.

aA


Leave a Reply

